Lang. Arts


Language Arts Sites
 
 
AwesomeStories http://www.awesomestories.com/ This site has an interactive learning experience as you see relevant maps, pictures, artifacts, manuscripts and documents in context within each story.
Beatrix Potter http://wiredforbooks.org/kids.htm Beatrix Potter stories online.
BookCrossing  http://www.bookcrossing.com/home A place to talk about and learn about books people are reading.
Book Hive http://www.bookhive.org/ This searchable site contains recommended book reviews at a variety of reading levels and interest areas. Little ones can also write and illustrate their own storybook on the site.
BookPALS Storyline Online http://www.storylineonline.net/  Books read on-line by actors.  Activities and lesson plans follow each book that is read.
Book Pop / Story Pop http://www.bookpop.com/storypop.html  Online stories written and narrated by author Stephen Cosgrove.
Brochure Maker http://www.mybrochuremaker.com/ Free online brochure maker.
CyberBee http://www.cyberbee.com/tools.html Tips and tools for teaching information access skills.
Discovery School for Teens http://school.discovery.com/schrockguide/arts/artlit.html Links for teen students to everything English/Literature/Writing/Research.
Ed Helper http://www.edhelper.com/language/language.html Printable activities and tools to teach Language Arts
Education World – Language Arts http://www.education-world.com/lang_lit/k_8_read_write.shtml Must use website - Daily vocabulary, writing process topics, authentic publishing links, reading guides, etc.
Elementary Research Process http://oslis.k12.or.us/elementary/ Tips and tools for teaching the research process.
Essay Punch http://www.essaypunch.com/Takes student through the actual steps of writing a basic essay – interactive – click on “Start Writing Now”.
Fact v. Opinion http://www.emints.org/ethemes/resources/S00001407.shtml List of sites, some interactive.
Four Blocks Literacy Model at Gigglepotz http://www.gigglepotz.com/4blocks.htm Strategies for Guided Reading, Self-Selected Reading, Working With Words, and Writing.
Fun Brain.com  http://www.funbrain.com/cgi-bin/shtml.cgi?A1=../vocab/index.html  Reading and Vocabulary games.
Fun Brain - Reading http://www.funbrain.com/brain/ReadingBrain/ReadingBrain.html Online books and mad libs.
Gamequarium – Language Arts http://www.gamequarium.com/languagearts.htm Interactive games.
Guide to Grammar and Writing http://grammar.ccc.commnet.edu/grammar/ One-stop shopping with Power Points, checklists, etc.
I Love That Teaching Idea http://www.ilovethatteachingidea.com/ Tons of ideas for teaching spelling, reading, and writing.
Ivy Joy  http://www.ivyjoy.com/fables/index.shtml  Links to fables, fairytales, stories, and nursery rhymes.
Kids Read http://www.kidsreads.com/ Interactive website for kids – trivia games, puzzles, author biographies, book reviews.
Kiz Club http://www.kizclub.com/Sbody.html Printable activities for letter recognition, phonics, online stories, links to author of children’s books, etc.
KY Council for Teachers of English/Language Arts http://www.kcte.org/ Latest news for teachers.
Literacy Center http://www.literacycenter.net/lessonview_en.htm# Practice for all Pre-K skills including upper and lower case letters.
Literature Guides for Books http://teach.fcps.net/trt14/LiteratureGuides.htm A compiled list of literature guides on books at the elementary level. Lexile levels listed on many.
Literacy Net http://www.literacynet.org/cnnsf/archives.html Resource for struggling readers. Consists of current and past news stories that students may choose to read, listen to, or view a short video clip of the story. Includes interactive activities to test vocabulary and comprehension.
Magic Keys Storybooks http://www.magickeys.com/books/ Illustrated children's stories for kids of all ages.
Main Idea v. Supporting Ideas http://www.manatee.k12.fl.us/sites/elementary/palmasola/Gr1MI5.htm Interactive instruction.
Middle Web http://www.middleweb.com/CurrLangArt.html Comprehensive list of links for middle school Language Arts teachers.
Mother Goose http://www.zelo.com/family/nursery/index.asp List of nursery rhymes in alphabetical order.
Paragraph Punch http://www.paragraphpunch.com/ Takes student through the actual steps of writing a paragraph – interactive – click on “Start Writing Now”.
Power Point Collection for Language Arts K-12 http://jc-schools.net/PPTs-la.html Download teacher-made power point presentation and games.
Plagiarism Detector http://www.2learn.ca/mapset/SafetyNet/plagiarism/sleuth/StringSearchnew.html Enter a phrase and search to check for plagiarism.
Primary Games - Reading http://www.primarygames.com/reading.htm Interactive Reading games.
Principles of Composition http://grammar.ccc.commnet.edu/grammar/composition/composition.htm Everything about writing.
Quiz Hub http://quizhub.com/quiz/quizhub.cfm Daily Oral Language Ideas, Interactive Spelling sites and quizzes.
Quotation Book http://www.quotationsbook.com/ 43,061 quotations by 7,960 authors in 1,328 subjects; 4,082 proverbs and 72,299 fortunes in 72 collections.
Read Write Think http://www.readwritethink.org/student_mat/index.asp Collection of online interactive tools to support literacy learning in the K-12 classroom.
Reading Quest http://curry.edschool.virginia.edu/go/readquest/strat/ A-Z strategies for teaching reading comprehension.
Rhyming Dictionary http://www.writeexpress.com/online2.html Online rhyming dictionary.
Reading Rainbow http://pbskids.org/readingrainbow/ Book reviews by kids, online activities, games, printables, etc.
Readquarium http://www.gamequarium.com/readquarium/index.html Reading:  Interactive games for students and links for teachers.
Schoolhouse Rock – Grammar Rock http://www.geocities.com/Athens/Academy/7304/G_Rock.html Lyrics to Grammar Rock songs like Conjunction Function.
Short Story http://www.teachers.net/lessons/posts/1173.html 1-week unit with lesson plans.
Starfall www.starfall.com Phonics and reading skills.
Story-It http://www.storyit.com/ Resources for students and teachers, interactive working with words.
Storyplace http://www.storyplace.org  A children’s digital library with online stories, printable activities, and book lists.
Storytime Online http://kennedy-center.org/multimedia/storytimeonline/ Steaming video productions of popular stories by the Kennedy Center.
Seussville http://www.seussville.com/ Dr. Seuss interactive games.
Tall Tales and Jack Tales http://www.ferrum.edu/applit/studyg/tallact.htm Appalachian Folktales/Jack Tales/ Tall Tales and how to write them.
The Write Source http://www.thewritesource.com Good source for student writing models, writing topics, and multimedia presentations for all grade levels. 
Vocabulary University http://www.vocabulary.com/ A free site puzzles/activities/exercises that help develop vocabulary.
Web English Teacher http://www.webenglishteacher.com/ Links to every concept.
WritingFix  http://writingfix.com/  Where getting a daily "fix" of writing is more important than fixing your writing.
WritingFix  http://www.writingfix.com/forkids.htm  Where getting a daily "fix" of writing is more important than fixing your writing.
Writing a Short Story http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/revisewise/english/writing/ Excellent multimedia introduction, organizer for short story components, and test.

/* Hide sub-nav-group span texts */